Home > Sections


Beaver Scouts (6 – 8 years)

Beaver Scouts are young people usually aged between 6 and 8 years old. They belong to the first and youngest Section in the Scout Group. Girls and boys can join Beaver Scouts from three months leading up to their 6th birthday. They can move to the next Section, Cub Scouts, between 7¾ and 8½.

Easily recognised by their distinctive turquoise sweatshirts, Beaver Scouts enjoy making friends, playing games, going on visits and helping others. They usually meet together once a week in a Beaver Scout Colony. Some Beaver Scout Colonies also organise Sleepovers. These are often the first time a young person spends a night away from home. They take place in suitable buildings, often Scout centres.


Cub Scouts (8 – 10½ years)

Cub Scouts are girls and boys aged 8-10½ years who form the second section in the Scouting family between the Beaver and Scout sections.

In Essex, Cub Scouts have the largest number of young people from all of the sections with over 5000 boys and girls enjoying adventure from Saffron Walden to Southend-on-Sea.

Cub Scouts usually meet weekly to take part in activities from the Balanced Programme:

  • Outdoor & Adventure
  • Creative
  • Fitness
  • Beliefs & Attitudes
  • Community
  • Global

An exciting part of being a Cub Scout is going on camp, sleeping in tents and taking part in new adventurous activities. Every Cub Scout should have the opportunity to take part in a nights away experience each year.

Cub Scouts belong to packs led by a Cub Scout Leader and work in teams called Sixes led by a senior Cub Scout called a Sixer.


Scouts (10½ – 14 years)
The Scout Section is for boys and girls, usually aged between 10½ and 14 years. A young person can join a Scout Troop from 10 and may stay until they are 14½ years old. The Scout section is the third and final Section within the Scout Group.

Scouts are encouraged to take part in a wide range of activities as part of their programme. “Participation” rather than meeting set standards is the key approach and for the Scout who wants to be recognised for their achievements there are a number of Challenges Awards and Activity Badges.

Being outdoors is an important part of the Program, focusing on both the traditional Scouting skills, such as camping, survival and cooking as well as the wide range of adventurous activities, anything from abseiling to yachting.


Explorer Scouts (14 – 18 years)

Explorer Scouts are young people, usually aged between 14 and 18 years old. They make up the fourth Section of the Scouting family. There are many types of Explorer Scout Units, some may be linked to your local Scout Group, others may be based around specific activities. Explorer Scouts get the chance to work with others in the District, not just the Unit. By doing this, they will get the chance to do many more activities, not just the ones the Unit organises.

The Explorer Scout programme offers a balanced range of activities covering the outdoors & adventure, skills, physical recreation, community, global, and values & relationships. An important part of the programme are the expeditions that Explorer Scouts need to complete to gain their Chief Scout Awards.

To support the programme there are a range of badges and awards for the Explorer Scout: the Chief Scout’s Platinum and Diamond Awards; the Duke of Edinburgh’s Awards; Explorer Belt; activity badges; Group awards and Moving-On award to the Scout Network. The Activity Badges cover: air activities; community; creative; emergency aid; lifesaver; mountain activities; recreation; science & technology; scouting skills; nautical skills; water activities plus the staged badges available to the Beaver, Cub and Scout sections.

The Explorer Scout Unit is run under the leadership of adults responsible for supporting the programme, training Explorer Scouts, mentoring the Unit, managing the Unit and maintaining effective communications within the Unit, the District, Scout Groups and other agencies with which there are links.